Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Mother Nature


2003-04-02 at 12:41 p.m.

Mother Nature is a tease.

Last week, all the snow melted and it truly seemed as though Spring was in the air. Then, just as I was about to break out the razor and get my furry, pasty white legs ready for the sunlight again, BAM! The temperature drops and Mother Nature dumps 7 inches of snow on the ground. Dammit.

It's melting again but I refuse to get excited. Last year, it snowed on the day of my college graduation. ON MAY 19TH! Sometimes it makes me want to move back home.

Until recently, I never even considered moving back to my hometown in southwest Texas. Mostly because I didn't want to be living in the same town as my parents. Not because I don't love them, 'cause I do...they are awesome. It's just that they are very important people where I grew up and I was always the daughter, you know what I mean? Bob and Rosie's daughter. All the jobs I held my dad or mom had some hand in getting me. I didn't want to be an adult trying to make my own waves in my parents' wake.

It is quite daunting and discouraging to always be wondering if you measure up. So, anyway, long story short, I have spent the past five years firmly squashing any urge to move back home. But let me tell you, where I grew up...El Paso, to be exact, there's sunshine 360 days a year. It has two seasons: summer and fall.

I used to hate that. But now...I dunno, it doesn't seem like such a bad idea.

I went and got some weather pixies, one for the area where I live and one for El Paso. I probably shouldn't be comparing them, it'll just depress me, really. Guess which one is which!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com