Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Wang Chung


2001-02-21 at 17:30:06

Oh, the agony of midterms. I just got out of my Modern Chinese History midterm. And I feel...I feel...that underwhelming sense of neutrality. Not bad, not good, just...there. See kids, I feel like I really nailed it on the first two questions. I got the identifies down and I think I did pretty well on the second question, which was to define the problems faced by the Qing government in the 19th century. The third question was on a reading that, let's face it, was rather obtuse. It was like reading stereo instructions. So, I fudged a little. Hopefully, I fudged well. I'm looking at, on the strength of the first two answers, at least an 80. Anything less and I'll be forced to commit seppuku. And I studied, too. Honest. I spent two hours last night with classmate Callie in her huge awesome single (jealous? You bet your underoos) going over notes and things. Dammit. I hope I got it right. But I don't have that sinking feeling of failure. You know, the knot in your stomach when you look down at your French or Calculus exam and realize that you know nothing. "When did they start writing things in Greek?" You wonder and then, you realize that it's not in Greek, you're just an idiot. Nope, I didn't have that feeling. But I couldn't say that I ran out of there with a bright red banner of triumph and a torch shouting: I RULE! I correctly identified the Four Treasures AND had a cohesive argument on why the Qing Empire ended! YES! No, I turned in the test, shrugged on my coat and walked out into the snowy, gray early afternoon with a pensive expression. Ahh...and then I headed straight over to the computer lab to check my e-mail. So, keep your fingers crossed, kiddos. I should know by next week. And, if I was wrong and I completely choked, then I'll write a long winded essay on why the examiniation system sucks and how it's not an accurate way to measure knowledge. That's all for now. Bye!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com