Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Merriam's a nice guy, but Webster? Such an asshole!


2004-07-30 at 12:04 a.m.

Well now, when RONALD REAGAN, JR. thinks you're an asshole, maybe it's time to retire. But don't retire to Texas, please, GW, I'm moving back there in a few years and I'd like my beloved home state to be free of your funk. Maybe by the time I get back there, the children will have health insurance again and libraries will be able to keep their doors open. Then again, a sick and ignorant populace is easier to govern.

Read Reagan's very erudite and interesting article that will be appearing in an Esquire near you, here.


While in the midst of leaving a note in So-charming's journal, I realized that I had no idea if 'burgle' was a real word.

Let's see...according to Merriam Webster, it sort of is:

Main Entry: bur�gle

Pronunciation: 'b&r-g&l

Function: transitive verb

Inflected Form(s): bur�gled; bur�gling /-g(&-)li[ng]/

Etymology: back-formation from burglar

: BURGLARIZE

Now, I wonder about 'whelmed'. C'mon, admit it, ever since '10 Things I Hate About You', you've wondered if it was possible to not be overwhelmed or underwhelmed, but just plain whelmed.

Huh.

Main Entry: whelm

Pronunciation: 'hwelm, 'welm

Function: verb

Etymology: Middle English

transitive senses

1 : to turn (as a dish or vessel) upside down usually to cover something : cover or engulf completely with usually disastrous effect

2 : to overcome in thought or feeling : OVERWHELM

intransitive senses : to pass or go over something so as to bury or submerge it

Aha! It all makes sense now!

Well, there you have it. And if you doubt my explanations, I've provided the link to Merriam Webster, thus whelming my ass.

Oh, I know that wasn't right, but it was fun to type.

0 people have corrected my grammar



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com