Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Uh Oh.


2004-02-10 at 2:43 p.m.

Um, well, okay.

So, my boss at the wee library has decided to retire in April. Which leaves me temporarily in charge until...

A)They hire someone new or

B)They hire me

I kind of like the idea of being library director. In a village this small, it's not required to have an M.L.S. However, I'm honest enough to admit that I have several flaws that might make being director difficult. They are:

1. I am very, very bad at confrontation. Sometimes you have to confront people in this line of work, sometimes you have to suspend accounts or ban people. I'm a sponge. Very bad.

2. I've never run a business before. All right, this isn't a Fortune 500 Company, but still...looking at my checkbook and it's dire state, I wonder if I can handle a budget.

3. I look like I'm 15. Doesn't necessarily engender respect.

4. I get nervous easily.

But, I do have some good qualities:

1. I love libraries.

2. I am familiar with this library and its patrons and, as far as I know, people like me.

3. I'm very good at my job. (And modest)But I am.

4. I'm in school for my MLS, so I'm learning a lot of important things.

5. I've worked in libraries for about six years now.

6. I'm a hard worker and have no problem working overtime, coming in to sub for people, etc.

7. I'm computer literate.

So, what to do? Of course, they may not even OFFER me the job, which, to be honest, would hurt my feelings. But, if they did offer it, would I/should I take it?

The library is doing so well now and I'm afraid a new person might screw it up. Or I might. Argh. I'm flustered.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com