Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I'm a 5, damn it!


2005-06-06 at 10:28 p.m.

I sent the previous entry to a friend and she accused me of being whiny. Was it whiny? This is the first time I've really talked (or typed, as it were) in any length about my father's accident and the way things are in Gem-chan land with any seriousness, as I hadn't been able to work myself out of this problem. If wanting a virtual ear to chew on for a moment is whiny, well, then....WAAAHHHH!

Anyway, insensitive friend aside, I have decided what to do. That is, I have gone back to my previous way of thinking which is: wait and see. Look around for opportunities, everywhere, not just in El Paso. I was especially turned off a library position in El Paso after reading the supplement application (which, apparently, IS A TEST in addition to the civil service exam I would have to take)and seeing what they want from me.

Here is a tidbit:

For each position, (label each position using the letter from the work history section) we want you to write a BRIEF description of your duties and responsibilities. Avoid using vague, non-descriptive phrases such as �assisted in� or �coordinated� unless clarified by additional information. If you do not have experience in an area, write NONE. It is not necessary to have experience in all areas to do well on this test.

Following your description, list the percentage of your work time that you spent in each subject area. If you spent about a quarter of your day working on the computer, for example, you would write 25% next to that position in the automation/computers section. Please note that the total time spent performing the Evaluation Factors cannot exceed 100% per position.

Finally, we want you to rate your level of expertise in each subject area for each job you have held. Use the following scale:

1. I have had no experience or training in this task, function or activity.
2. I have had formal training in this task, function or activity, but no experience.
3. I have had supervised experience in this task, function or activity (could include on-the-job training).
4. I have independently performed this task, function or activity.
5. I have performed as a lead worker or supervisor in this task, function or activity.


EXAMPLE OF FORMAT:
1. SUPERVISION:

Position A Directly supervised two full time employees in the reference section, one library
(10%) Technician and one library Aide. I defined their work responsibilities, checked their
Rating = 4 progress, verified completed work, and filled out their performance evaluations.
I implemented a staff training program for internet usage.

Position B I supervised two part-time technicians. I provided their initial training, scheduled
(5%) their hours, assigned them to projects, checked their work, and recommended pay
Rating = 3 increases.

Position C NONE
(0%)
Rating = 1
Note: Time spent performing the Evaluation Factors cannot exceed 100% per position.

May I say: WTF? I feel like if I read the instructions, there will be a little note in the middle saying, "Congratulations for reading the instructions. If you've read this far, write "I'm a fucking genius" on the front of the suppliment application and go celebrate. You're hired."

Wait, I just checked and damn, they're serious. There are five sections, each with a maximum of 4 subsections. And there's math. Damn it. I just need to marry rich.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com