Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Damn you Wyoming!


2004-05-27 at 6:15 p.m.

Damn you to Hades!

Now, you might be asking yourself why I would damn an entire state. Wyoming's pretty neutral. It's neither good nor bad...it's sort of like...I dunno, American cheese. So, why would I be cursing the cowboy state?

Because I can never remember it, dammit.

See, I was in class today, doing my once a semester in-service thingie that's a requirement in the distance learning program and, while my professor droned on about cataloging knitting books, I entertained myself by writing a list. That way, I stay awake and I look like I'm industriously taking notes. Win, win.

So, today's list was the 50 states. I was able to name 49, but I couldn't, for the life of me, think of the 50th. It pissed me off and drove me insane. You laugh at me, but let's see you try to do it without cheating. It's hard. It's the states in the middle that get me. And Delaware. Goddamn Delaware.

So, during one of our breaks, I whipped out my trusty cell phone and called my mom in Texas to ask her what states were in the middle. She was confused and a little annoyed that I was wasting phone minutes on that. But she did supply the answer, although she had to go to Yahoo! and look it up.

I almost always forget either Wyoming, Nebraska or Delaware. Once, I forgot Texas and felt completely stupid for about an hour. Let's not EVEN talk about the time I got 51 states. It's embarassing.

Hm. I seem to have exhausted myself with typing. That's what happens when you wake up at 6 A.M. to make an hour long commute into "the city". Which, by the way, is Syracuse. Why does everyone always assume that "the city" is New York City? It's annoying. As though there are no metropoli west of the Hudson. Sheesh.

2 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com