Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I cry in the face of danger!


2007-01-22 at 12:09 p.m.

Alas! I thought I had left Central New York weather behind when I hightailed it south in '05. Tragically, it's plenty cold and snowy around here. S NM had a brief over-reaction on Friday, everything was shut down and then nothing happened, much to my amusement.

But the storm finally hit us and I couldn't drive home last night. (I drove in to EP to have dinner with the family) I was just starting out, around 2 A.M. to head back to LC, but the snow was flying thick, the roads were slick and icy and everyone was driving like an asshole.

Speaking of assholes, mine was puckered so tight while I was dodging skidding cars that I thought I was going to get sucked in, like a black hole.

Luckily, I got off the freeway and spent the night at my brother's house. When I woke up at one point, I had a dog and two cats draped over me. It was kind of nice to have a cat purring in my ear again, something I haven't heard since the deaths of Butterscotch (aged 22, last June) and Hilde (aged 2, November '04). Maybe I'll get another cat. I kind of miss having one around.

In other news...wait, there is no other news. Can my life be so useless? This, my friends, is the real reason I didn't update much last year. Nothing happened.

Wait, I know. The City announced that we have a new Library Director and it's not the temp one that's been driving me crazy since last March. No, this is a woman from Florida, who's never seen the library, never met with any of its staff and, I think, has no idea what she's in for. She's starting in 3 weeks. We'll see if she's a nightmare or a dream. I'm hoping she'll come in and smite the stupid.

Well, it's time for me to get ready for work (I'm working the late shift tonight, tragically). Since I slept in my clothes last night, I should probably change. At least my underwear.

Ha! Just kidding.



Currents...

Currently Reading...
Teasing Secrets from the Dead by Emily Craig

Currently Hearing...
Am I embarassed that I find one of 30 Seconds to Mars' songs catchy? You betcha. I'm not an emo teenager. But damn it, it's catchy!

Currently Distracted By...
Clive Owen's manliness, ghost midgets (don't ask) and snow.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com