Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I have become a crotchety old bag


2007-08-05 at 3:51 p.m.

There is an ad that's airing here that just sends me up a tree.

Here's a breakdown:

Mother with screaming child in restaurant. Mom is begging kid to be quiet. Patrons are whispering and glaring at the mom, someone even says something in a loud voice about how obnoxious the kid is.
Then, someone in a kind voice comiserates with the mom, she thanks them, smiles and hugs all around.

At the end of the ad, an announcer says something to the likes of: be nice to parents with screaming children, otherwise they'll go home and beat their kids and it will be your fault.

I say, "Good!" Kids these days (did I ever think I would be old n'crotchety enough to write THAT?) need a good beating. In my day (again, I can feel osteoperosis setting in), my mom would smack the crap out of me with impunity if I even THOUGHT about being a shit. To this day I swear she has psychic powers and knows when I'm being evil.

In other news: I have a cat. Speaking of bad parenting skills, I am unable to train the little shit not to hook his claws into the delicate flesh of my leg and use it as an anchor as he climbs Mount Gem-chan. I also am unable to stop him from sinking his teeth into my arm, leg, foot, or whatever flesh is available. If he wasn't so damn cute, I'd kick his ass.

He's only about 3 months old and is a 1/2 asshole, 1/2 adorable, short-hair orange and white tabby. I've tried the squirting water thing, but he likes it, the yelling thing, which only seems to piss him off further, the putting him in another room and shutting the door when he's especially evil thing, but he shredded all my toilet paper and pooped in the sink. Now I just yell at him and then throw whatever is handy so he'll detach himself and chase it.

He was a stray, probably kin to my brother and sister-in-law's two stray kitties, and wandered quite happily into their home. I ended up taking him home last month. I named him Wednesday because I thought he was a girl, an impression I held until his vet pointed out "two little surprises". I feel bad about his girly name and purple collar with little pink heart tag. He has gender identity issues and I often find him playing with my bras.

But he's cute and loving (when he's not biting the shit out of me)and enjoys knocking everything over, breaking things and pooping, possibly behind the dryer although he does seem fond of his litter box. Everyone is telling me that this is a phase and that when he is neutered, he'll calm down. I hope so. I don't mind occasional exuberance, but it's not really fun to wake up in the middle of the night with a cat attached to your nose.

I have discovered, however, that a ping-pong ball or two in an empty bathtub can distract him for hours, so there's that. Also, his evil nemesis is the laser pointer I bought last week to distract him. It drives him nuts. His tail will puff up sometimes and he'll hiss and pounce on it. It's like Wile E. Coyote and the Roadrunner. It provides hours of amusement.

Not much else going on around here, just the usual fuckery of city government...which reminds me, one of my especially obnoxious co-workers quit! Yes! One down, four to go! Perhaps my voodoo works, after all. (Or the guy wasn't getting along with the new boss and quit because she didn't think he was hot shit, which, apparently is a job requirement. But I prefer to think it was my voodoo.)

Oh, I also got a $7,000 a year raise, which is all sorts of awesome, although my job still floats in the land of ambigous. Oh well. For what they're paying me now, I'll put up with it.



Currents...

Currently Watching...
TNT dramas. Go, has-been aging ex-movie star ladies, go! Also, anything where someone breaks the law and then gets punished for it.

Currently Hearing...
Muse, Black Holes and Revelations
(also, I got tickets to see The Killers in concert!)

Currently Reading...
Books about disgruntled people.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com