Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Angry rant


2003-03-03 at 1:10 a.m.

Oh my God! For the first time ever, I am going to rant about politics. Normally I don�t because most people don�t care and I am not interested in talking to people whose eyes have glazed over. But let me tell you, I AM PISSED!

I live in New York state and our great (read the sarcasm in that) governor, Pataki, is proposing some pretty hefty cuts in education and healthcare to cover the big ass deficit that is looming large. Why is it that whenever money needs to be cut, it�s cut from schools and health care? Probably because it�s easier to run a semi-totalitarian government if your people are too stupid or sick to care.

I work in a library and my boss and I are going up to Albany (for those in states whose education budgets have been slashed to hell, like Texas, Albany is the state capital of NY, NOT New York City.) along with a bus load of other pissed off librarians to tell Pataki and his minions what an asshole he is. We�re protesting. I�m personally hoping for some rubber bullets and tear gas, but I suppose that wouldn�t be good PR for the government.

I can just see the headlines now: LIBRARIANS TAKEN DOWN BY SWAT TEAM.

My parents were active protesters in the �60s and I�m sure they saw tear gas and rubber bullets. I envy them.

But, I�m straying from the point here, which is: I HATE MY GOVERNMENT. Seriously, if Tony Blair wasn�t so busy kissing Bush�s ass, I might consider moving to Britain. Now, I�m thinking, Canada. French Canada. Yes, George Bush has managed to make the French seem appealing.

I was born and raised in Texas and I saw the havoc that our former governor wreaked there. Budget deficits, tax cuts that had to be revoked because they were economically unsound, healthcare and education slashed, etc. Much to my amazement in 2000, and despite the warnings of Texans who knew better (not the Texans that had benefited from Bush�s slash and burn tactics-Dallas and Houston-ites you know who you are) the American public actually elected this asshole (sort of). And, he�s proceeded to do to the country what he did to Texas. To wit, run it into the ground.

And now the dickhead is going to plunge us into war. HELLO PEOPLE! WAKE UP! In case you missed the headlines, Iraq is cooperating. They�re destroying missiles and actually not being morons for two seconds. Yet, every time they do what they�re told, the White House responds with: ONE MORE ACT LIKE THAT, MISTER AND IT�S WAR!

North Korea has missiles pointed at us and they�re fueling up, yet Bush and his minions are pointing to the sad sack that is Sadaam Hussein and shrieking about how he�s a threat to us. Gee, I wonder why? Could it be because Bush and Co. has invested so much time and money in convincing the American people that Iraq is the enemy that they can�t back out? Great foreign policy, assholes. I don�t remember �painting yourself into a corner� anywhere in my PoliSci classes. Maybe I skipped that day?

I am disgusted. Whenever anyone has the temerity to point out the fact that George W. Bush is, in fact, a jerk-off former frat boy whose only math skills involve the number of kegs he tapped in college, he and his minions scream SEPTEMBER 11TH! And all is silent again. Let me tell you what I think. I think the CIA and the government had some inkling that this was going to happen. But bureaucratic red tape prevented anything from being done.

Oh, and by the way, the Department of Homeland Security (brought to you by the makers of Duct Tape and Prozac) is about three lock steps away from Hitler�s SS. Keep watching �Joe Millionaire�, America. While the country is busy being slack-jawed troglodytes with their eyes glued to the television screen, Bush and his people are going to eliminate all of your freedoms. When the TV turns off and you all turn around, there will be soldiers quartered in your house and executions of people like me on the hour, every hour. Good thing I�ll be one of the first to die, because then I won�t have to see what�s left of America.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com