Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I really need to get a new job.


2004-04-08 at 2:36 p.m.

So, do we know why I hate Thursday? Because, children, I am working a full day. And when I say full day, I don't mean 9 to 5, with an hour off for lunch. Nooo, I mean 12:00 P.M. to 2 A.M. with no lunch or dinner breaks. Thank you, Library of the Underworld, you suck.

Yes, today at the Wee Public Library, I got a phone call from my supervisor asking me (in no uncertain terms) to come to work at 4:30 because one of the other employees couldn't make it. I had to explain that my shift here at Wee Public didn't end until 4:30, so there was no way I could be there right then, transporters having not been invented yet.

Feeling put upon, she agreed to stay until 5, so I would have time to get my car and drive to work. It was recommended that I bring a little something with me to eat since I have no dinner breaks on that shift.

Where are the other 5 people who work in Circulation? They all only have 1 job and they're off today. Can't one of them drag their asses away from their couch and work until 10 P.M. when I normally arrive? Apparently not.

So, today would also happen to be the day that I'm doubly exhausted because I couldn't sleep AGAIN last night. A fourteen hour day with no breaks. Dammit. That pisses me off.


In other, completely non-related news, I was going through the local history stuff we keep in the back here at Wee Public and I found some pictures and information on my apartment building.

Apparently, the original owners were ardent spiritualists and used to conduct seances and other spiritualist stuff in the bottom floor, west-facing apartment. MY apartment. Oooh, creepy.

Now everytime I go home, I'll imagine Captain Howdy and Chuckie are waiting for me in my closet.

Maybe I can send them to the Library of the Underworld?

Ooh, I am totally de-disgruntled. Someone just sent me flowers congratulating me on my new job. How am I supposed to be cranky when I got flowers?

Currently Reading: Musashi / by Eiji Yoshikawa ; translated from the Japanese by Charles S. Terry

Currently Listening to: Goldberg Variations/Bach/Glen Gould

Brain Candy: I have no time for brain candy or entertainment today, dammit.

0 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com