Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Arrogant Bastard


2003-10-07 at 11:48 p.m.

I am seething. I have to write this out before I explode and drop kick the next student who talks to me in the head.

*DEEP CLEANSING ZEN BREATH*

So, the rules clearly state that reserve books cannot leave the library. Not until we close, then they are due back first thing in the morning.

So, a student, a girl, wants to take out a reserve book and take it out of the library into a study room nearby. We, of course, can't let her. Sorry, them's the rules.

She huffs and says, "Well, we did it an hour ago with another book." And my reply was "So?"

She gets mad and throws the book back and leaves. End of story, right?

Nope. Next comes in Rico Suave, in a denim shirt and blazer, looking oh so very young Republican. He asks to take out the book. We tell him he can't leave the library with it. He says okay, we check it out to him and he tries to leave. I point out to him that no means no, so what does the little bastard do?

He reaches into his wallet, takes out a $20.00 bill and flicks it at me. "Here. That should take care of any problems." He says. I am so shocked by the audaciousness of what he does that as I stand there, flummoxed, I forget to stop him and he leaves with the book.

I have just been bribed. If I had been in my right mind, I would have shoved that $20.00 so far up his ass, he could have given me change.

The money is just sitting on the table. I don't want it. The little shit. Who does he think I am? Better question, who does he think he is? What an arrogant bastard.

You know, the more time I spend with the upper eschelons of society, the more I long to go and rub elbows with the hoi polloi. They may be mouth breathers, but generally, they are decent, hard working people who treat me with goddamned dignity and respect.

Fuck Colgate University and all its fucking arrogant students.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com