Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Give me an A!


2004-07-19 at 11:59 p.m.

I am using diaryland as my guinea pig for a paper I'm writing on user system interfaces. I couldn't think of anything else to use.

Huh.

Well now, let's evaluate this bad boy.

One of my lectures named 5 properties that define the usability of a system.

1. Easy to learn

2. Efficient

3. Easy to remember

4. Relatively error-free or error forgiving

5. Pleasant to use

Let's see...

Easy to learn...pretty easy. I had my diary up about fifteen minutes after activating my account. It wasn't particularly pretty, but it was up and accessible, so, not rocket science.

Efficient...does the diaryland interface allow a high level of productivity? Sort of. The main thing I found problematic was that if I wanted to look back at something or click on a FAQ in the middle of writing an entry, unless I right-clicked my mouse and had the thing open up in a new window, I would lose everything I just wrote. Frustrating.

Easy to remember...yup. Once again, not rocket science.

Relatively error-free or error forgiving...hahahahahahaaaaaaaaaa! *choke*

Pleasant to use...well, it's no iron maiden or torture rack, so I can't really complain, although there have been times when I wanted to kill it.

Okay, now to take those five points and turn them into a paper. Grr.

1 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com