Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I'm baaaccckkkk!


2002-12-10 at 12:01 a.m.

Oh man, where has the time gone? I was just reading my old entries and chortling, madly. You know, college really WAS the source of all my ills. The second I walked across that stage and grabbed my diploma, it was like the sun broke out from behind the perpetual dark clouds, angels started singing and I was suddenly about 100 lbs lighter. I AM NOW FREE! FREEEEEE! BWAHAHAHAHHHHHAAAAAAAA!

Sorry. Anyway, as you may have gathered, I graduated. But don't think that it was a cakewalk. I was eaten up with anxiety until I sat back down on my seat, ripped open the envelope and actually saw that yes, there was a diploma in there. I keep the little mini-diploma in my wallet just so I can pull it out and reassure myself from time to time.

So what am I doing now? Am I, like almost half of my graduating class, unemployed? No. In fact, I'm overemployed. I have 2 jobs. One is as the Head of Circulation at a teeny, tiny little public library. The other is as a wage slave at Brimstone University library. Guess which job I like better.

Annnyyyywaaayyyy....although some things about my life have changed, namely, the fact that I am now an independent (sort of) adult, the fundamentals remain the same. I'm still a lazy anime fan with an unhealthy obsession with beefcake. I still drink wwwaaaayyy too much Dr. Pepper. I still watch Forensic Files on Court TV and I still think Yoko Kanno should get some sort of award for rocking as hard as she does. Squirrels do still creep me out.

So, new life, new set of problems to bitch about. Good for this on-line diary. My next hurdle is the GRE. I'm taking it this month (EEEKKK! RUN AWAAYYY!) and applying to grad schools next year. I'm trying to become a professional librarian. I know, I know. A librarian with tattoos, who listens to J-pop and waxes philosophic on the moral implications of Rurouni Kenshin. I still think I'm cool. Those American Library Association conventions are reputed to be pretty wild. Maybe not as fun as A-Kon, but, if I'm lucky, then there will be a Dangerous Dancing man there to entertain me. Or maybe I can find someone to talk tentacle shop with. One can only hope.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com