Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The badger has landed.


2005-07-22 at 12:48 a.m.

Sometimes a funny story gets a life of its own. And, after it is given life, it becomes a cancerous beast that threatens to eat out your eyeballs. Such is the badger story.

I may have briefly mentioned a year or so ago something about babbling about badgers at a board meeting, but since I wasn't too keen on reliving the experience, I dropped it and moved on.

Alas, the story is back and it will now travel to the far corners of the earth, where I don't know, Eskimos and Maori warriors will laugh at my dumb-assery.

See, I'm doing the last bit of my Master's degree program, which required me to live on campus and take some classes with other distance students.

And, I may have, in a moment of "Please, please, please, like me!" blurted out the badger story in its horrifying entirety, which led to it getting re-told again and again, which led to its recitement in front of my class and my two professors. So now, everyone knows of my badger humiliation, including the owner of a book publishing company and the director of a major urban public library.

So, long story short, if you should happen to hear a story about a nervous young director blurting out, in an almost Tourette's like way, a long and rambling diatribe on badgers at a library board meeting, well, that's me. I demand royalties.


Moving on, here's an interesting little meme I have come up with while in class, when I should have been paying attention:

If you were to write a book, what would your author's bio look like?

Mine:

Gem-chan was born and raised in Southwest Texas. Despite that, she does not a) ride horses b)shoot things
c) own big hats d) speak in a drawl. She does, however, enjoy Mexican food and the writings of Kinky Friedman.

She has a lot of spare time, which she fills with smutty romance paperbacks, the odd book on strange Japanese inventions, anime, crocheting what may be the world's longest and ugliest scarf, tooling around on the web and trying to convince people that, despite all evidence to the contrary, she is actually a somewhat responsible adult.

She lives in a small apartment with sentient dirty dishes to keep her company and occasionally accidentally flirts with lesbians.


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Autobiography of a Fat Bride by Laurie Notaro

Texas Hold 'Em by Kinky Friedman

Currently Hearing...
No Doubt, Greatest Hits

Currently Watching...
What is it with A&E and trash TV lately? Did you see the new Criss Angel show? That guy was probably a band nerd who was picked on by jocks a lot. How else can you explain his overcompensating with the whole "I'm a mysterious goth, floating in the desert, an enigma, surrounded by a midget and a fat lady! Listen to me while I shriek out my one-word theme song and molest innocent passersby with edited "magic" " ?
Honestly!


Did you know I have a store? I like it.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com