Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Happy Birthday to Meeee! My Creditors Will Break My Kneeees!


2003-05-23 at 2:36 p.m.

Today is my birthday. 23 years old. Wahooo. I'd be happier, except that last night, I had to call my father and beg him for money because I am hella poor.

I screwed up and got the phone shut off last month, I was barely able to scrape enough together to get it turned back on. I felt ever so very white trashy.

There are a couple of reasons why I am so poor. They are, in no particular order:

1. My job at Colgate is only during the school year and the school year ended two weeks ago. -I did manage to secure a part time summer job there, but it's for half the number of hours, so half the pay.

2. I had to pay $700.00 to Syracuse U. as part of my tuition.

3. I was away for a week, so I didn't work. No work, no money.

4. I owe $150.00 for an emergency room visit last October when I sprained my ankle. My mother's bastardly insurance company wouldn't pay.

5. Four words...Fruits Basket on DVD.

*Sigh* I am very, very lucky, though. After giving my father my rehearsed "I'm so pathetic" speech and apologizing profusely, he said:

"Baby, if that's the worst thing you ever do, then I don't mind. I'll mail a check to you tomorrow." My dad is just the sweetest, most generous man alive.

Hopefully, he won't tell my mom, though, or I'm toast.

---Random Note---

I have chosen the one thing that I hate the most about working at a library. Is it the lack of funding? No. The public apathy? No. The evil children who gave me my first gray hair ever? (Did I tell you about that? I FOUND A GRAY HAIR! I blame the children and President Bush, the asshole.)No.

It's trying to cover new books with that goddamned plastic book covering. It never fits the size of the book, it's unwieldly, it has enough static to paste me to a wall and it hates me with the heat of a thousand suns. Stupid plastic book covering! I curse you!

---Another random note---

Kids around here are wierd. Their new form of entertainment isn't some computer game, no...they get their kicks from using the typewriter.

I swear to God, there are at least four kids over there at a time, ooh-ing and ahh-ing as another one picks out words with one finger. I guess the danger of no backspace or spellcheck, as well as the novelty of using such an archaic thing is what lures them. But it makes me feel old. I grew up using typewriters, dammit.

---In A Continuing Theme of Randomness--

I had to create a website for my library science class and I came across this link...

Library Science Jeopardy

I kicked ass on it. If only they'd give me a diploma based on my Library Science Jeopardy score.

And, one final note...

WE ARE DOOMED! DOOOOOOMED, I TELL YOU!

Several centuries from now, when scholars of the future are trying to determine when exactly the U.S. began it's long slide into extinction, they will pinpoint the election and re-election of Ronald Reagan, and George W. Bush's ill-fated economic plans. That and, lead in the water.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com