Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bloody dumbbell!


2004-12-08 at 1:58 a.m.

Oh hooooo *the pain!*

I just walked right into an 8 lb. dumbbell. My middle toe is bleeding. And, I decided to sit down and share that with you.

In other pain news, I was trying to wrench the cap off of a bottle of gas line anti-freeze at the gas station the other night when the key I was using to lever it off slipped and cut off a huge chunk of skin on my right pointer finger, right at the knuckle. There was copious blood, so much that I had to go into the gas station and buy a box of band-aids, which the lady wouldn't touch because I got blood all over the box. I had to read her the price.

Woe is me. Curse you gas line anti-freeze additive! (And dumbbells!)


You know, that Dog Bounty Hunter fellow might be a lot more intimidating if he wasn't sporting a big honkin' mullet.

Then again, since I equate mullets with backwoods red-neck types with short tempers and access to unlimited firearms, maybe he should keep that mullet.


Umm...yeah. Soooo...I finished decorating the meeting room at the wee public library for the big X-Mas Extravaganza on Saturday. Ahh...a drunken fireman as Santa, some misshapen cookies and the deziens of E'ville, tromping in and out of my library, messing with my nice displays.

Today at SBPL, someone praised the wee public library's video collection. One of my co-workers told me and said, "Doesn't that make you feel good?" and I said, "Well, I'd feel even better if she had complimented my book collection."

Grr. That's what I'd really like to get feedback on: book purchases. Collection development is one of the most difficult parts of my job and I'd like to hear what people think of the books I buy.

I could give a rat's patoot about movies. I could put some actual crap into a video box and those lobodomized cheeba monkeys would check it out. It's the books I worry about.

Did the people like 'Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrel'? How about 'The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time'?
Or 'Darkly Dreaming Dexter'? I want to kno-ho-ho-hooooow! Poop.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Some super boring crap on international roaming charges and legislation.

Currently Hearing...
The drunken phone message Mistress Chicken and the other 500 drunk people at Handlebars left me.

Currently Watching...
Whatever gripping documentary is on A&E. Bill Kurtis OWNS that network, I swear.
It's all because of his stentorian voice and his nice hair.

Currently Thinking...
Lobodomized cheeba monkeys. Ha.

Christmas Shopping List:
Mistress Chicken (X)
Moonspark (X)
Chupacabra (X)
Momdingo (X)
Bobito (X)
Big Al (X)
Little L (fiancee)( )
Special K (X)
Baby J ( )
Staff at WPL (x3) ( )
Staff at SBPL(x2) ( )

8 down, 7 to go.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com