Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Give it up for the U.S.A. and me! Especially me!


2005-07-04 at 12:42 p.m.

It's the 4th of July! Um, yeah!

So what am I doing during this glorious holiday? Working. Not because I have to, per se, but because I need to, which is a completely different thing.

I'm going away to SU for two weeks starting next weekend for my last 3 classes of grad school. They call it "boot camp" and it is. One class is two days, the other two are a week long, each. It's intense and a lot of work, but I honestly prefer it to a semester. A week doesn't give me enough time to lose interest, forget stuff and screw up. It's better that way.

So, I'll be gone for two weeks from work and I want to clean off my desk. I've still got all this week to do it, but I thought I'd get a head start.

I won't be gone for two weeks from this journal because I'll have an internet connection, a laptop and plenty of stuff to bitch about. Like living in a dorm. God, I hate living in dorms. The smell alone puts me in a mood, and not a good one.

Since SU is about an hour away from home, I thought it would be better to live on campus as opposed to commuting, which is a nightmare when you have classes at 8 A.M. (Up at six, leave at seven? No thank you.) I'll probably carve some time to swing back down to E'ville just to make sure everything is going ok. (And to pick up my Harry Potter book, damn it.)

I had my fun this past weekend buying school supplies. I picked up a binder that says: "I fell off the monkey bars", a notebook that says, "I am my own evil twin", and Pirates of the Caribbean folders featuring Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom.

What? I'm an adult, you say? In grad school, no less? I should have more mature school supplies?

Hell no. If goggling at Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom gets me through two weeks of pure evil, then goggle, I will. Plus, the notebook and binder were funny. And my Hello Kitty pen lights up.

Boo-ya!

Also deserving a boo-ya...in three weeks, I will have my Master of Science in Library and Information Science. Hell, that deserves a double boo-ya!
(jumps up and down with glee)




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com