Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I've got your hanging chad right here!


2003-11-04 at 12:56 p.m.

I went to Norm's this morning to vote. It's kind of silly the way this town in divided. The separation between two counties, Madison and Chenango are right down E. and W. Main St., so the town is divided in half. It gets confusing sometimes, especially for me because, although I only live a block away from work, I live and work in two different counties. Wha?

Anyway, did you get out and vote? If you're 18 and mostly functional, you have absolutely no excuse. Unless you're a Republican, then not voting is OK. In fact, never go to the polls. Keep watching 'Joe Millionaire Does Europe' and let us take care of things.

Of course, this wasn't exactly a rip-roarin' election. There was only 1 Democrat running for anything, and that was Library Trustee over in Sherburne. The rest were Republicans and unchallenged.

There were also two amendments that I voted in favor of, although, now that I think about it, I'm not entirely sure what I voted for. They should either start writing things in English or provide a dictionary in the voting booth. For all I know, I could have just diverted funds from an orphanage to finance government-sponsored midget tossing. I don't know.

Actually, the amendments had something to do with sewage treatment and debt exclusion. I think. Damn.


I e-mailed my landlord (one of them) to see if they'd let me stay in the parsonage. The more I look around, the less moving seems like a good idea. Yeah, it's a big house, but frankly, moving into some tiny-assed apartment and paying the same amount of money or more than I currently pay just seems stupid. Plus, I'm lazy.


They hired someone to work with me during the shitty shift at the University Library. I have to train her. Me. Train. That's a good idea. I can just see it now:

Me: Um, yeah. Just, you know, don't fuck up.

Yeah, I'm a regular educator.

We just got an e-mail from the big boss welcoming the new lady to the staff. She specifically singled out people to thank for their hard work and flexibility during this time when we were a staff member short. I notice she didn't thank me for working that shift all by myself for three months. I'm a little offended, mostly because, well, for all the bitching I do, the jobs (mine and the other one) got done and I did them well. No acknowledgement from the head office kind of makes me feel like I've done nothing the past three months. She also said something to the effect that it will be nice to have someone on the job who can help the students after midnight. Just what the hell does she think I do? Man. Look at me. I've become that bitter staff person. Stupid library, turning me into a bitch.


This is a random entry, isn't it? Huh.


Hey, I'm thinking of putting together a sort of 'must read' list of journal entries, you know, a kind of best of thing to give people an idea of who/what/where/why I am. I've seen it at other journals and I think it's a cool idea. Any suggestions from you, my reader? (Yeah, you. The only one.)


You know, I was just thinking, there isn't much I wouldn't do for a Klondike bar.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com