Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Miss Circulation


2003-11-17 at 1:40 a.m.

"I am a reed, my problems blow through me like the wind..." That cousin Larry sure knew what he was talking about. What would I have done tonight if I hadn't had the sage advice of cousin Larry and Balky to help me through?

I repeated the above phrase about twenty times all while clenching and unclenching my fists, tamping down hard on my temper.

See, it's the University library again. It's fucking with me during a time when I surely don't need the fucking.

Evil Slag Co-worker ordered me to copy journals for inter library loan, even though:

A. She is not my superior or my boss

B. My real boss told me not to worry about journals

I told her no. She got mad. I told her that my real boss said not to worry about it, but that I would e-mail her and ask her if she wished me to start copying the journals at night.

I hate copying journals. What the fuck is the ILL lady doing with her student workers during the day? Beating them? Feeding them the moldy candy she keeps in a horrific bear container on her desk until they die?

I think that my being pissed off at the evil slag all the time, which necessitates me sending pissed e-mails to my boss is probably going to come back and bite me in the ass. Probably when I ask if they want me to work summer hours. They'll think:

"That girl is too much trouble."

Sigh.

The evil slag then said to me: "You know, we hear so much about all the great work you do at that other library, so it's really disappointing when you come here and don't put forth that effort."

That was when I started quoting cousin Larry because what I wanted to say was:

"WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO TELL YOU WHY I AM NOT MOTIVATED, 'CAUSE IT'S A FUNNY FUCKING STORY YOU EVIL, FAT BITCH!"

What I did say was: "Um hm."

Good Lord. This job is a textbook example of how to not motivate your employees. The latest thing is that everyone got nametags, nice brass nametags with their names and job titles on them. Mine says: CIRCULATION. That's it. No name. Just CIRCULATION. Want to know how to make me feel undervalued and apathetic, like a nameless minion? CIRCU-FUCKING-LATION.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com