Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Feliz dia de los muertos!


2003-11-02 at 3:41 a.m.

Mmm. Currently enjoying that bag of Milky Way bars that I bought and "lost" last night. Gee, it was real tragic that I didn't find it until after midnight. Who put them in the freezer? WHO?!

Heh. Maybe it was me.

Anyway, Halloween in a small town. The fire department had a party, everyone was there. I ate a weiner and chatted with burly men in yellow pants that I think were probably the firemen. I hope. Otherwise there were some pants-less firemen wandering around somewhere.

One lady came dressed as a clown. I stayed away from her. I backed into a corner and hissed, brandishing my half-eaten weiner in what I hoped was a threatening enough manner to keep her at bay.

Okay, maybe I didn't, but the above paragraph sure was fun to type.

My car got egged, I know who did it. I mean, crap, there's only about a dozen teenagers in town and only one who happened to have bought eggs at the grocery store Thursday night, and who also happens to be a delinquent. Unless Murray or Norm went nuts, I think it's pretty safe to assume it was this kid. I'll give him what for next time he comes to the library. By the way, Murray's the town sheriff and Norm's the barber. I live in a fucking sitcom.

Ahem. Tonight I cemented my handprints on the Walk of Complete and Total Geek-dom by hosting the Harry Potter Trivia Contest before the local theatre had a special Halloween showing of the Chamber of Secrets. God. I was the MC, the TRIVIA MASTER!

I don't think I actually qualify in the real world of HP fanatics. I don't read or write the fanfiction or draw kinky pictures of Hermione and Snape (ew!) and I've only read the 5 books a couple of times each. I just got roped into doing it because I have a singular inability to say 'no' when approached by puppy-eyed board members.

My best friend Moonspark should have done it. She once wrote a paper on how Harry's scar was a metaphor for his mother's vagina. That paper is legendary at her university.

It just goes to show that you can pretty much get away with writing anything when you're in college. I once wrote a paper on the socio-economic climate of England during the Jack the Ripper murders and how the roster of the accused reflected British society's prejudices. Um yeah. Back to being dumb.

Sooo...now that I've killed this diary entry with my nerd funk, I will leave you and go...I don't know, go do something geeky, probably.


Currents...

Currently watching:Carnivale

If had to be a circus freak, I'd want to be the randy bearded lady.

Currently reading:Devil in the White City

Currently hearing:Still listening to Liz Phair's newest. Go Liz, go!



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com