Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Education hurts.


2004-09-26 at 12:18 a.m.

So, Special K is a high school science teacher. And apparently, Special K is a high school science teacher in BEIRUT!!

She got beat up on Wednesday by a student during one of her classes. Now, I'm not too fond of science, either, but I never had the urge to take it out on my teacher. Well...except for that bitch who taught geometry. I'll give you Pythagreum's theorum, lady, RIGHT IN THE EYE!

Anyway, what actually happened was Special K was trying to protect one student from another and took the beating for her student. A couple of punches to the back and neck and a kick to the leg. She had to go to the hospital and get x-rayed and all to make sure she wasn't really dead and a zombie.

She's fine, by the way. As fine as a science teacher who had the crap kicked out of her by a big, angry black female gang member can be. Mostly, she's annoyed. Apparently, the girl was trying to hit the other kid and kept missing. She has issues with that, because you know, the girl kept missing and hitting HER.

She got two days off on workman's comp, so it wasn't a total wash, she tells me. Plus, everyone has just been so concerned and nice to her, including her students, which made her happy. Except for the part where she got beaten up.

So, the girl was expelled and the school pressed charges and now Special K has to go to court and testify. Geez. What the hell kind of place is suburban Chicago, anyway?


So, today I got to go to Trenton, Paris and Rome. All in one day!

No, I haven't figured out a way to beam myself places and besides, if I could, why would I beam myself to Trenton?

Trenton, NY and Paris, NY and Rome, NY. I had to go to some sort of barn festival in the boonies and it involved be going through all these places. I had to pimp Mid-York's Regional Read.

Never, ever, EVER attempt to pimp an intellectual excercise at a BARN FESTIVAL. It's like trying to sell Satanism at a church bazaar.

I suggested to the lady who was running the booth that maybe next time we could, I don't know, sell cookies or some of those annoying squeaky monkey puppets that were so popular as opposed to attempting to sell thought, because people weren't buying.

We're trying to get everyone to read 'Fahrenheit 451'. A lot of people thought we were trying to get them to watch/support 'Fahrenheit 9/11', mostly because they're stupid. We were told off a few times and we spent a lot of time explaining. It was kind of annoying. Especially since I had to stand out there and try to get people to come into our tent. People would take one look at me with a book in my hand and they would run away like I was a damned Jehovah's Witness or something. Blah.

The good thing was that I was able to eat more fried dough than is good for a normal human and I got some kettle korn, too. Rock.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norell by Susanah Clarke

Currently Hearing...
Sound of people's unused, atrophied brains rattling around in their skulls.

Currently Watching...
Dead Like Me
CSI

Currently Annoyed By...
The expiration of my Gold Membership. Tragic. And hey, what do you think of the new layout, anyway?

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com