Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Fashion Rant


2004-09-17 at 3:15 a.m.

Can anyone explain to me what the hell is going on with Lane Bryant and their penchant for fugly shirts? I mean, dear God, I have to walk into the store these days with sunglasses on lest I be blinded by fashion errors such as this

or this

What are they hoping to achieve? Do the designers think that people will be so distracted by the orange/brown/lime green paisley that they won't notice that the woman wearing the shirt is fat?

Even I fell into their evil plot last New Year's when I purchased a black and white ruched shirt with some sort of retina searing pattern. But hell, it was peer pressure. Never go shopping with friends, people. They make you buy ugly shirts.

Meanwhile, fall is fast approaching. I love fall and winter because it's my favorite fashion time of year. Time for sweaters and pants, the time of year when I can be completely covered up and not accused of being frumpy. I am frumpy, by the way. I prefer it. I don't feel comfortable attempting to showcase my goods, or lack thereof and during the fall and winter no one expects it. I can layer and fear no reprisals.

Viva winter!

1 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com