Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

It's five, five, five questions in one entry!


2005-01-08 at 11:33 p.m.

How could I NOT do this, I ask you?

1. What is the first book you remember reading?
Treasure Island, with my mom, age 3.

2. What is your favorite book?
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

3. Who is your favorite author?
Just one? Puh-leeze. Roald Dahl, James Thurber, Dorothy Parker, Jasper Fforde, David Sedaris.

4. Pick up the nearest book (magazine or any available printed material will do). Turn to page 24 (or the closest to it). Go to the 7th line. What is it?
"It was the only sound way to proceed. At the time there was much opposition to our approach." In Retrospect/Robert S. McNamara

5. If you could be any character in literature, who would you be?
Elizabeth Bennett, because Mr. Darcy is so damn sexy. (Anyone read 'Mr. Darcy takes a wife? Grrrowwwllll)

Friday Five! It's back!



I love being the town librarian sometimes. Today one of the village boys (a Boy Scout) shoveled my driveway. Lovely boy didn't even charge me.



Just saw 'Darkness'. One word: Lame. Okay, another one: Convoluted. Okay, two more: retarded plot. Heard 'White Noise' is bad, too. Isn't anyone besides the Japanese making decent horror movies? Dammit.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com