Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire.


2004-02-23 at 4:07 p.m.

Huh. There's some huge fire going on down the street. Since I live in a small town, the fire department's volunteer, which means that whenever they're needed, a supremely loud siren goes off. The first time I heard it, I thought we were being bombed by the Japanese or something. Then I realized it wasn't 1944 and I relaxed.

But the sirens have been going off like mad for about a half-hour and fire trucks from here and the surrounding villages have been pouring in, so it must be a pretty big fire. I'm resisting the urge to run out and gawk with the rest of the hoi polloi. Maybe after work. I do hope no one was hurt. I know pretty much everyone in this town and it would be upsetting if someone was.

Cool. Someone from a TV news station in Syracuse just called to ask about the fire. Must be a big deal. I went outside to see which direction the trucks were going and she got to hear the sirens up close and personal.

Maybe I'll be on the news. Oh crap. I'm dressed like a dork because it's laundry day. Typical.

The sirens went off this morning too. Geez, a disastrous day for the people of Earlville. I'll have to check out the news later on and see what happened. Another fire truck just went by. This one from a town about 20 miles away. Damn. That makes, like 15 firetrucks so far. Maybe the whole block's on fire.


Currents...

Current Weather...

30 degrees and sunny. Low tonight of 12. Degrees. Dammit.

Currently Reading...

Arrows of the Queen by Mercedes Lackey

Someone said it was a good series.

Currently Watching...

Saiyuki and Saiyuki Reload, One Piece and Naruto. Oh, I love the anime, yes I do. Especially anime with sexy, sexy men.

Currently Hearing...

Bloodhound Gang, 'One Fierce Beercoaster'

I forgot how hilarious and awesome this CD is.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com