Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Curses!


2004-05-30 at 12:44 a.m.

First Wyoming and now Grover Cleveland. Damn you Grover, damn you.

So, yesterday's list was the Presidents of the United States of America. No, not the band. I mean, "Lump" was catchy, but I'm talking about actual Presidents.

There have been 43 so far. Hopefully, by the end of the year, we'll be up to 44. Keep your fingers crossed. Anyway, I was able to name 35 out of 43 Presidents. Not bad, eh? I got a little muzzy in the middle, I mean honestly, who remembers Franklin Pierce? Or Harrison? That guy was President for like, a month.

I did, however, remember Grover Cleveland.

So why do I hate him?

Because that bastard had the temerity to be president twice, but not consecutively, so he was counted as two separate Presidents. He was the 22nd and the 24th. And this totally screwed me up.

After I checked my answers, I discovered that I was one short. "But how?" I wailed, alarming everyone at the Syracuse U. bookstore, where I had gone to look up the answer in the reference section.

After I assured the security guard that I wasn't a threat to anyone still living, I looked closer and discovered that Grover had tricked me and America.

Three American Presidents have been assassinated: Lincoln, McKinley and Kennedy and, as far as I know, there have been two attempts: Ford and Reagan.

So, me? Yeah. Super nerd.

Hm. I just found a part of a fortune cookie in my bra. Interesting. Confucious says, "BOOBIE!"

1 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com