Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Lots of little hats


2003-06-10 at 3:09 p.m.

You know, the only real bad thing about working in a teeny tiny library is that I have to wear many different hats. No, I am not talking about actual hats. I am talking about responsibilities.

Let's see, I am currently 'Head of Circulation', 'Head of Inter-Library Loan', 'Head IT-Technician' and indian chief. Not that I hate it all the time, actually I love the responsibility and it's giving me great experience for the future.

That aside...ARGH!

Today I hate being the IT person. See, way back when IMacs first came out, our former director thought they were cute and bought one, then proceeded to load it up with lots of crap, mostly shareware games. Then, she installed a management system so that patrons could use it without having access to the controls.

Ok, great. Then the former director gets fired, mostly because she was blowing the book budget on all the Anne McCafferty and Robert Jordan books she could find (I have nothing against Sci Fi, hell, I read it, however, any good librarian will tell you that you can't just buy books that you like.)and magazines on Victorian houses. Oh, and she had about a dozen cats living in the library. (Once again, I like cats, but you know, some people might be allergic, or kids might get scratched, etc.)

So, she leaves and is very bitter. She sets a new password on the IMac before she goes and then refuses to tell anyone what it is.

Four years later, the IMac is beginning to get wonky. We have other computers, Gateways, which people prefer to use since IMacs are cute but not exactly easily accessible to members of the hoi polloi. Great. But the shareware games are freezing and otherwise acting obnoxious, the computer is slow and no one wants to use it.

So, I decide that I'm gonna fix it. But what do I know about Macs? NOTHING! Sure, my first computer was a Mac, but that was in 1985 and all I did was play Transylvania. Anyway, naturally, I can't access the control files because the password isn't known. I have to erase the harddrive and start all over.

But we need a program to manage users and the one we had doesn't exist anymore. Not only that, but I can't figure out how to hook the damn thing up to the internet because we're on a network server and I don't know all the little address thingies.

I wonder if my boss would object to me turning the IMac into a planter? Maybe a doorstop? We could hang it on a wall because it is pretty. Argh.

P.S. I don't want e-mails from Mac fanatics, ok? I knew a couple of 'em in college and they already berated me for owning a Dell more than you ever could. Just leave me alone.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com