Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Maybe if we ignore it, it will go away.


2004-11-06 at 1:11 a.m.

Sooo...I am NOT going to talk about politics. If you're like me, then you're sick of hearing about it. I'm an ostritch and my head is firmly buried in the sand.

Anywhoodles, my future sister-in-law, who I just realized has yet to be christened with a nickname for this blog, sent myself as well as the other bridesmaids some pictures of bridesmaid dresses.

Well, as if the triple threat of a taffeta, hot pink and tea-length wasn't enough, it's also going to be sleeveless. Well, shit. My only objection to tea-length, by the way, is the fact that it hits me at the fattest part of my calf.

So anyway, I was so horrified by the idea of pouring my ripply fat ass into a sleeveless, hot pink, tea-length taffeta bridesmaid dress (*shudder*), that I immediately went out and joined a frickin' gym. Well, not a gym exactly. A Curves. You know, that half an hour, low-impact resistance thing. It's actually not that bad. As much as any excercise regime can be categorized as "not bad".

My only issue with Curves, by the way, is that they refer to exercising as 'curving'. The lady kept saying things like, "If you're out of town and want to curve..." and "You'll love curving!" That's just annoying.

Hmm.

More news:

I spent Halloween weekend with Baby J and Special K in Wisconsin. I had my first fried cheese curd and let me tell you, that just about changed my religion. Woooo. Who needs a man when you have Culver's fried cheese curds?

I was at the Milwaukee airport on Monday, the day before the election, and I now have something else to hate the Prez for. They shut down the airport when he arrived and it took me seven extra hours to get home. In a fit of rage, I flipped off Air Force One as it taxied past my window and a bunch of people cheered me on. It was cool.

Oh, and Baby J, who's not really a Baby anymore, was a princess and was so frickin' cute, I almost tossed my cheese curds.

Oooh, and Special K hijacked me and forced me to go to church, where, after a particularly long bout of synthesized, drum and guitar-infused Christian soft-rock sung by middle-aged "hip" pastors and their "with-it" wives, someone was visited by Jesus and told us all we were sinners and such. It was freaky. I mean, jeez, how often do people get possesed by the son of God in the middle of a christian soft-rock block? And wouldn't Jesus posess someone who DIDN'T think that dark roots and bleach blonde hair were cool?

Special K said that didn't happen too often. Maybe it was in honor of me? By the way, her church is a ginormous concrete and glass monstrosity with all the charm of your local strip mall. When did God get so impersonal? And when did HE decide that the only way to worship HIM was with an orchestra, a band, a choir, three singing pastors and four back-up singers? Religion by McDonald's.
Over 5,00,000 saved. Yick.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Treasured Vows by Cathy Maxwell.
Smutty romance.

Currently Hearing...
Maroon 5, 'Songs About Jane'

Currently Watching...
Dead Like Me (I love you, Callum Blue!), The Oblongs, Adult Swim and a lot of stupid things on VH-1.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com