Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Librarians in Hell


2003-06-05 at 3:52 p.m.

If Dante had an eleventh level of hell, it would be for evil librarians. I'm pretty sure that one of the punishments set aside for the wicked would be filing ILL labels. FOR ETERNITY.

Which makes me wonder if, in fact I am in hell. Let me check my surroundings.

Evil minions, check. Fire and brimstone, hmmm...does dark faux wood paneling and really ugly mosaics featuring cows count? Truly the interior design of this library was done in league with Satan. That would explain the giant ball of bricks that sits in the reading room. (Don't ask.)So, fire and brimstone, well, check, check. Time standing still...check, check and check mate.

Ok, that confirms it. I am in hell. Dammit. I wonder what sort of librarian sin I committed to be put here? Did I give people unnecessary fines? Delete reserves I didn't want to deal with? Take a dollar from petty cash to buy a coke? Crap. Maybe I did. But, I mean, really, it was about 100 degrees inside and I was totally parched. AND I PUT THE DOLLAR BACK LATER! But I did once make someone's account expire because I didn't like them. Heh. Drunk with my own power.

Argh. So, I come into work today and the Interlibrary Loan lady hands me two boxes, an enourmous pile of mailing labels, a 500 page book of ILL codes, old card catalgue cards and stickers. She then tells me that, since no one has taken it upon themselves to do this since January, I have 6 months worth of label filing to do. I have to match the three letter code to each library, and if it doesn't already have a section, I have to make one using the old cards and stickers. Then the filing begins. AAACCCKKKKK!

So, I begin...telling myself that I won't work past 3:30 on this evil little project. It's 1:00. I look up at the clock half an hour later and it's 1:10! AAHHHH! Twenty minutes later, 1:15! I AM IN HELL!!!

***IN OTHER HELL NEWS***

My employee id expired last month so today I went in and got a new one. I didn't expect the campus safety photo experience to be like going to Glamour Shots or anything but GOD DAMN, they must have some sort of fugly filter on that thing because I came out looking like I was rode hard and put up wet.

I'm not really ugly. Okay, I was being modest. I'm not ugly. I'm not gorgeous either, I'd settle on cute. I'm cute. But where was my cuteness today? According to my picture, I look like Dom Deluise. I discovered chins and blemishes I didn't even know I had.

I took one look at the screen and asked the lady if I could retake the picture, maybe a little further away from the camera so my face didn't look like a lunar landscape, but she wouldn't let me. Bitch. I bet she got all the retakes she wanted.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com