Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Librarians in Hell 2, Electric Boogaloo


2003-06-06 at 1:28 p.m.

Okay. Day 2 in Dante's 11th circle.

Apparently, Interlibrary Loan lady found a whole 'nother stack of labels to be filed. It wasn't last done in January, oh nooo....in fact, no one had bothered to file these labels in almost a year.

I would have asked her where exactly they were hidden but since it's Friday, and the boss isn't here, Interlibrary Loan lady took off like a shot the minute the clock hit 1:00. There's an ILL Lady shaped hole in the wall.

It's not hard work, just tedious and mind numbing. File, file, make labels, get up and help someone, file, file, make labels, get up and help someone...blah blah blah.

Add to this potent stew of misery and angst the fact that I haven't had a good long sleep in two days and you get something vaguely puce colored and inedible. (Did that make sense? I've been reading too many Dean Koontz novels and have decided that I must appropriate his tourtured metaphors. 'His hand was sticky like the ghostly caress of an unhinged snail looking for salt.' Or something.)

Yesterday Baby J woke me up at 7 a.m.

Sadly, she's not content to simply sit in front of the damn t.v. while I sleep on the couch like a good little girl. But then again, if she was at all considerate, she wouldn't be two. Anyhow, any attempt at sleep was thwarted by her either sitting on my head or slapping my boob, sometimes both at the same time.

Today, I had to wake up at 7:30 because I had a meeting to attend in Utica, which is an hour or so away. It was a webauthor's meeting for people who do the webpages for their libraries. Other, larger libraries have people whose only job is to do that. At my library, chartered to serve 800 people, we have 4 employees. I have about 6 jobs, one of which is the web page.

Anyway, an hour there, an hour back and now I have to work until 9 p.m. I am going to diiiieeeee!

Eeek. Beezelbub is looking this way. MUST LOOK BUSY AND PRODUCTIVE, otherwise she'll rip out my liver and feed it to the reference librarians, FOR ETERNITY.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com