Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I Am .03 Human


2003-08-13 at 4:12 p.m.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

I shouldn't be writing this. Honestly. I am swamped. I should be shelving or something, but if I didn't sit down for a minute, my feet were going to detach themselves in protest and go get a pedicure. I had to sit.

I am going to die. I came in at 12:30 and have yet to have a moment where someone isn't asking me for books on concrete or seashells or wanting me to mediate a dispute in the computer lab. WHEN DOES SCHOOL START?! PLEASE GOD LET IT BE SOON!

A kid just told me that school starts on September 3. THREE WEEKS! MAY THEY PASS AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE BEFORE I GO MAD!

Ahem. Sorry. I can only take so much of the little shits before my hand begins to reach for the letter opener and I have to stop myself.

In other news, my university library boss woke me up this morning (who calls at 9:00 A.M?! Seriously!)to ask me to work more hours. Uh huh. Listen people. I am still .03 human according to the library scale of worthiness. I got an 11 cent raise and still make less than 9.00 an hour. But they need me to work more because I do my job (despite all the bitching, heh) and I do it well and with competence. They want me to start working on linking the on-line reserve readings because the woman who normally does it and is vveerrryyy territorial about it doesn't actually start working until September.

I'm sorry, but if you are going to do a job and claim it as yours, refuse to teach anyone else how to do it and throw hissy fits when someone else does, then you damn well better be around to do it when it needs to be done. Like say, before the fucking term starts.

Anywho, so, they need me to come in and do the reserve linking because no one else can figure out how to do it and apparently, I am such a genius that I'll figure it out within 2 seconds. (We'll see.)

They also have me re-writing the Circulation Manual and co-ordinating student training. I am slightly frustrated because they seem to believe me to be highly competent and very valuable to have, but it really looks like the only one benefitting from all the extra work I do is the library.

Sure, I make a little more money, emphasis on LITTLE, but they still refuse to hire me on as a permanent part-time employee (I'm what's called a 'floater' or temporary worker despite the fact that I work 20 hours or more a week, well ove the minimum number of hours to qualify as part time and despite the fact that I've been there for over a year.)or give me any benefits. Currently, I do more than the other salaried employees.

It's just very frustrating. That is compounded by the fact that I have a god damned degree from the very university where I work and it gets me diddly squat. Seriously. I started out so low on the food chain that Human Resources didn't even know I'd been hired until I went down there and kicked some ass because I wasn't getting paid.

Based on his Colgate degree, my dad got a 5 cent pay hike when he went to work for the UT Austin Law Library. I didn't even get that. I got my 11 cent raise because everybody got one.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com