Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Imelda Marcos Understands


2004-03-07 at 5:10 p.m.

So, I went to the mall yesterday in order to purchase some "responsible-like" clothes for my new job. Because, as director, it is no longer appropriate for me to show up in my Hello Kitty "It's All About the Booty" pirate t-shirt. Damn it.

Anywhoodles, I got some nice khaki dress pants and two dressy shirts. Good for me. Perhaps I can now fool people into thinking I'm all responsible-like.

I also had an orgasm in Discount Show Warehouse.

Let me 'splain, see, I've been looking for a pair of black dress loafers. But, not 'strident lesbian' black dress loafers, nor 'middle aged woman' black dress loafers. No, I have been looking for 'cute and sassy' black dress loafers and having a damn hard time finding them.

I'm picky about shoes. For my loafers...I don't like heels that are too big or too flat, I prefer rounded toes to creepy pointed-witch toes or manly square toes, I want leather, but not patent leather or suede. And I want to find them for less than $50.00, but they can't be crappy quality.

I have never, in my entire life of purchasing, spent more than $50.00 on a pair of shoes. I won't. I get it from my mother who's so tight fisted that if you put a chunk of coal in her hand, in a week you'd have a diamond. This comes from growing up poor, I guess.

Anyway, growing up, I was never allowed to spend exorbitant amounts of money on shoes. Mom mellowed a bit when my brother and I got older and Big Al was able to whine his way into expensive trendy sneakers. But for me it became a point of pride that I never stooped to his level. (Yes, sibling rivalry really is that stupid.) While my big bro stepped out in $140.00 Nikes, I quite happily wore my $30.00 L.A. Gear sneakers until the duct tape wouldn't hold them together any more and they began to smell funny.

Old habits die hard and I still won't spend a lot of money on shoes. My work out sneakers are old-lady ones I picked up at a discount mall for $20.00. My nice dress heels are nice Kenneth Cole Unlisted Mary Janes I got on sale for $35.00. I only buy sale shoes and I pride myself on getting a good bargain.

But yesterday, I out did myself. I went into Discount Shoe Warehouse looking for my mythical perfect pair of black 'non lesbian, non old lady' dress loafers. I passed up the regular displays and went straight to the clearance racks. And there they were, a light of heaven shining upon them, as though to guide me.

Sketchers Black Dress Loafers, size 7, rounded toe, leather, but not too shiny or matte, nice chunky heel that wasn't too chunky, penny loafer style with just the right amount of sass.

They were marked down from $54.00 to $19.89 and that would have been good enough for me, but then I saw the color of the price tag. (DSW codes their clearance shoe discounts by price tag color-green is 25% off, red is 50% off, etc.)It was purple. Purple is 70% off the already reduced price. 70% off of $19.89.

I spent about $6.00 and change on a pair of Sketchers. I had the orgasm as I signed the receipt.

It was sooo goooood.


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Reserve readings for school. Ugh.

Currently Hearing...

Hole, 'Celebrity Skin'

Movie Of The Weekend...

Starsky and Hutch

Heh.

0 Tell me about your shoegasm.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com