Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

You opened a window and influenza.


2004-10-13 at 2:22 p.m.

I thought I was having a bad day. Mostly because the main library system honchos called me today and told me that I had been barcoding items wrong and that I would probably have to re-barcode everything I've done for the past year. That's a couple 100 items. Gaaaahhhhh.

So I called Momdingo to whine and she told me about her day and I decided she won.

See, Momdingo is the director of Family and Community Services and one of the services that falls under her direction is Nutrition Centers for the elderly and children. These Nutrition Centers were going to be giving out flu vaccines, but they ran out so they had to cancel most of the scheduled clinic days.

One of the centers got a small shipment of flu vaccine earmarked for the high risk elderly, but somehow news that one of the centers had some flu vaccine got out and the place was deluged with people.

All the media related to flu vaccines lately have put the fear of God into people. Momdingo advised the local press not to be so alarmist, but they didn't listen and broadcasted all sorts of flu horror stories and stories on the influenza pandemic of 1917 and scared the beejeezus out of people.

Momdingo had just gotten off the phone with the Nutrition Center director when I called all whiny. The mad elderly were rioting and they had to call in the police. The director had to call my mom from his cell phone because one of the mad elders stole the telephone and wouldn't let anyone use it. She had to send some staff down there to help the police with crowd control.

The media was there, she informed me. I fully plan on looking up some of the news outlets and seeing if Momdingo made the papers and such. If there's coverage, I'll try and post a link here.

I think this whole thing is hilarious in a tragic kind of way. Just thinking about the mad elderly beating each other up is kind of funny. I picture in my mind Rose, Dorothy, Blanche and Sofia from The Golden Girls getting into a slap fight. Comedy gold.

So anyway, Momdingo wins the prize, which is whining rights for 5 calendar days.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com