Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Kiss my ring, Famous Amos


2005-09-04 at 10:26 p.m.

I have rarely had success while baking. Normally, something falls, burns, sticks, explodes (that was a memorable experience)or lights on fire (yet another memorable baking experience). Luckily, I have been watching Alton Brown.

I have been invited to a BBQ tomorrow and, being the polite, non-homicidal Southerner that I am, I have politely ignored the "you don't have to bring anything" admonishment and decided to bake cookies. I don't know why, exactly. I suppose I'm just a glutton for punishment, in addition to my normal gluttony.

Anyway, I watched Alton's cookie episode not too long ago and felt ready to tackle the oven. So, I got all the ingredients together to make Tollhouse Cookies, with the addition of dried cherries. Dried cherries are tart, which I feel add a nice contrast to the sweet milk chocolate morsels. Mmmm.

So, I nervously put all the ingredients together and baked the first half-dozen.

May I say, fuckin'-ay! These are quite possibly the greatest cookies anyone has ever baked. Kiss my ass, Pepperidge Farm guy! Hey, Keebler Elves, blow me! Up your nose with a rubber hose, Mrs. Fields!

Pardon me while I dance around the living room in triumph.

Ahem. Sorry. I just get so happy when I don't suck.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
With this Ring by Amanda Quick.
(Smut! Whee! Rogues ravishing!)

Currently Hearing...
Shakira, Fijacion Oral, v. 1
(I'm currently brushing up on my Spanish.)

Currently Watching...
Oh my lord. I have decided that Clive Owen needs to join my harem. I saw Sin City and King Arthur in one go. It's not like he's traditionally sexy, but there's something so rugged and manly about him. Grrr.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com