Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Maybe it's the meds talking, but...


2004-11-11 at 12:53 a.m.

God. I am sick and tired of all the negativity. Momdingo and Big Al are convinced that in the next four years we'll all be forced to get barcode tattoos on our foreheads and submit to random government-mandated anal probes or something. So many people out there are predicting doom and gloom.

You know what? I refuse to become cynical and pessimistic. I refuse to allow this election to make me anything more than moderately annoyed.

Spare me your crap about how I'm being naive or ignorant. I KNOW Bush has the power to appoint three Supreme Court justices whose only overseer is, according to Jon Stewart, the icy hand of death. I KNOW all about his agenda for the next four years. But still, despite all that, I will not give into the sullen negativity that seems to have infected so many people.

I was a history major in college. Four years is a blip and I'm not going to waste any energy being angry. Instead, I'm going to get involved in the Democratic party and I'm going to see about getting rid of douche bags like Terry McAuliff and getting the party back on track with a message. There's no point in moping, it does nothing.

Bobito, the UberDemocrat, agrees with me. And hell, people, let me tell you something: waiting around for someone else to make the changes you think should happen will get you nothing and nowhere. If you want to see change, then do something about it. Get involved in local and state politics. Don't get cynical and don't lose hope.

I used to roll my eyes at the people who cared enough to be out protesting or who dedicated their time and energy to politics and agitating for change. I used to think they were naive and just plain lame. But you know what? I admire their dedication and instead of sitting around on my ass being an armchair philosopher, I'm going to get involved and laugh everytime someone rolls their eyes at me.

I want change and damn it, I'm going to do something about it.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Something about indexing and abstracting. Ugh.

Currently Hearing...
I'm back into Liz Phair. Wooo, Liz!

Currently Watching...
The Golden Girls (Lord, how I love this show. Go hug a land mine...classic.)
Cold Case Files (they featured an area murder last night...how cool! Well, not cool for the dead girls, but still!)
The Nanny (The only person who didn't guest star on that show was Charro. I think.)
Adult Swim




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com