Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Metro Madness!


2005-04-26 at 9:28 p.m.

Oh ho hoooo! The place where I am doing my internship on digital libraries is sending me to New York City on May 8th and 9th to attend a digital library convention thing. I'm going up on Sunday and staying overnight. Can you say HELLO Metropolitan Museum? I am so at the Costume Institute, it's not even funny.

On Monday I'm attending a Digitization Expo at Baruch College in Manhattan, which will be tons o' fun because I am a geek and proud of it. I mean, who else would get excited over presentations such as:
"The Costs of Digitization: Affording Worldwide Access to Cultural Heritage" or "Grant Proposal Writing for Digital and Preservation Projects"? Just me, baby.

I'm flying (!) it only takes an hour to fly in, which beats the hell out of a 5 hour train ride. And I get to stay at a hotel in mid-town Manhattan. I convinced them for saftey reasons not to stick me in Newark. Wooo! Adventure for me! Tragically, I couldn't convince them to put me up at the Plaza, my safety be damned.

So, I'll be wandering around NYC in a couple of weeks, what fun it is to be me!


Currents...

Currently Reading...
The Librarian by Larry Beinhart
A fiction MUST for any liberal!

Currently Hearing...
Love, Angel, Music, Baby - Gwen Stefani
It's peppy. I drive long distances with it.

Currently Watching...
Craft Corner Death Match
What Not to Wear on BBC
The Critical Hour
Forensic Files

I'm Currently...
917.47 JAN!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com