Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Movie Time!


2004-02-08 at 2:10 a.m.

Since it's a weekend and weekends are for being slothful, I thought I'd provide you, intrepid readers, a list of some of my favorite movies that I have found to be quite good at wasting time.

Now, my taste in movies is, er...esoteric, I suppose. My film professor would probably have me lobotomized if he knew just how much I enjoyed 'Kung Pow: Enter the Fist'. But I like to laugh and sometimes stupidity is just as funny as clever wit. So, there's my warning. Some of these movies may not be for you. And that's cool. You should see the movies I avoid like the plague. They're probably some of your favorites.

For some of the movies, I've thoughtfully provided links to reviews from my absolute favorite movie reviewer, the Self-Made Critic, who is both funny and right on the mark. For the movies who haven't been reviwed by the SMC, I've got links to other reviews.

I don't always agree with all of the reviews (after all, I obviously LIKE all these movies)but still, they offer some idea of what you should expect. Right, so here we go...

Kung Pow: Enter the Fist

Bowling for Columbine

The Royal Tenenbaums

Bend it Like Beckham

The Guru

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Party Girl

Mars Attacks!

Hairspray

Mallrats

Super Troopers

The Matchmaker

Mystery Men

Y Tu Mama Tambien

Mystery Science Theatre 3000: The Movie

Galaxy Quest

Strictly Ballroom

Muriel's Wedding

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

(Incidentally, the above movie stars Hugo Weaving of 'Matrix' and 'Lord of the Rings' fame and Guy Pearce of 'L.A. Confidential' and 'Momento' fame as enormously gay drag queens, which is terribly amusing to me. What range these men have!)



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com