Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bob Villa and Noam Chomsky Walk into a Bar...


2003-12-08 at 11:03 p.m.

This college degree is useless, I tell you. I spent two hours tonight trying to put together a desk chair which, according to the instructions, should have only taken me half an hour. Insert tab A into slot B (tee hee). Huh?

Let me say this, I think Bob Villa is more brilliant than Noam Chomsky. I mean, think about it, who would you rather be stuck in the woods with? Villa, right? Because he could engineer some sort of animal trap with sticks and back hair and keep you fed. What could Chomsky do? Theorize about it. Useless.

Noam Chomsky would also be absolutely no help if your toilet was clogged.

These days I have a high regard for men who are handy. So you can wax eloquent on the philosophy of John Dewey. In the words of Shania Twain, 'that don't impress me much'. Give me a man who can use a drill.

I don't want a man with a library, I want a man with a workshop. And a jigsaw. Anyone who actually owns a jigsaw must be hard core. That's my theory, anyway.

Maybe I should start hanging out at the hardware store.


Currents...

Currently reading...: Single White Vampire (Tee hee. I was in the mood for 'paranormal' romance, I guess. It's cute. Leave me alone.)

Currently listening to...: My homemade CD (kiss my ass music industry!)featuring the likes of Poe, Liz Phair, Semisonic, the Verve, 'Til Tuesday, Whale, Rob Zombie and a bunch of J-Pop (from Rurouni Kenshin, Vandread, Escaflowne and others).

Currently watching...: Good Eats. Man, I would love to marry a man like Alton Brown. He is my ideal. He could carmalize my sugar any time!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com