Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Holding Pattern


2005-10-06 at 11:46 a.m.

Well, finally somebody appreciated my awesomness.

I have a job interview in a little over a week for a librarian position.

Trouble is, it's a library in New Mexico. I'm flying down next Saturday. I'm feeling a bit nervous about the whole thing and also, a little sad.

I was in a holding pattern up here, I mentioned, just waiting to see what was going on, and I have to say, E'ville is a comfortable place to wait. I like it here and I'll be sad to move. But I can't afford to live up here making peanuts.

But maybe I shouldn't be counting my chickens before they hatch. Maybe I'll panic at the job interview and mention badgers or something. Argh.

Let's see...

Pros: $32,000 a year or more, depending, health insurance, I'll be a 45-minute drive away from my family, Mexican food, Whataburger (God, my priorities suck), my best friend, no blizzards, cheaper cost of living and my foot in the door of the library profession.

Cons: Desert. Ugh. I'll be a 45-minute drive away from my mom's nagging. One season a year, I'll have to leave upstate New York, where I've lived for almost 8 years, no Friehoffer's (dammit!), red state and Republicans.

Well, I suppose the pros win, but that doesn't stop me from being sad. And dammit, what am I going to do with all my sweaters?



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com