Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Gem-Chan, An Oprah Book Club Pick!*


2004-10-14 at 2:14 a.m.

I am a loooohoooohoooozer! That translates roughly into "loser". Anyway, I was at the mall the other day and I was forced by my inner 13 year old girl to purchase the "Mrs.
Bloom" purse.
Oh, the shame.

However, you will notice in this picture, which I stole from Ebay, that this purse costs $30.00. Well, I only paid $10.00. So I don't feel so bad.

Every time I look at the purse, I giggle. The Mr. Bloom in question is not, in fact, Leopold Bloom, from Joyce's 'Ulysseys', though if you thought that, I would both admire and pity you at the same time.

No, the Mr. Bloom I'm lusting after is of the Orlando variety, although really, maybe I should go around claiming the former, rather than the latter in yet another attempt to both establish myself as smart and alienate my patron base. Umhm. Maybe I should see if they have a "Mrs. Dedalus" purse. Haw haw, I am a geek.

Anywhoodles, the whole mad elderly thing was resolved and nary a hip was broken. There was a brief bit about it in the local news but it was rather boring and my mom wasn't interviewed, so who cares?
Here's a brief little tidbit on it. Momdingo made it sound a lot more exciting that it looks here, although she did say most of the action was going on inside the building.

Most of the local news was filled with stories about how my old elementary school is trying to exercise their "imminent domain" rights to gobble up nearby homes in an attempt to expand. Now, considering the fact that when I was there, many, many moons ago, we were stuck in portables and overflowing, I'd say that an expansion is long overdue, but I can understand why home owners would be pissed. Anyway, that's also not very interesting to people outside my hometown, so I'll move on. (Oh, the teacher they interviewed for that story, Mr. Farley? He was totally my P.E. coach! He made me run a lot so I didn't like him. And he wore tiny shorts. Lord, he must be in his 100s.)

Errr....that's all I have to say. Except that tomorrow, or actually, today, is the annual Mid-York Library System Association Dinner and I have to go schmooze. The only good thing? Wee Public picks up the tab. I'm forcing one of my staff people to go with me so I don't have to sit alone, looking awkward. It wasn't exactly torture that I used on her, more like an $18.00 meal paid for by the library. And an evening of my sparkling wit. Okay. Mostly, it was the food.


*Oprah Winfrey wouldn't even fart on me, let alone tell people to read my blog. I was just kidding. It was in reference to her choosing 'Ulysseys' as one of her cruel, cruel book club choices.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com