Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Ow.


2003-10-20 at 1:23 p.m.

Owwww! Seriously, ow! So, this morning I look like a prize-fighter, or at least like I was wrestling midgets. Vicious midgets. See, last night, I was shelving books on the reserve shelf. I was making some room for a few personal copies when I glanced up and BAM!!

Three textbooks fell on my face from the top shelf. My nose bled and I have a vicious cut on my cheek. I also have a little bit of a black eye. Since I was the only person on duty (from 10PM-2AM), I had to stay at the desk and nurse my wounds.

One patron came up to me and said, "My God! What happened?" to which I replied,

"Someone returned a book late. If you think I look bad, you should see the other guy. I bet he'll be returning his books on time from now on."

She looked alarmed for a minute before she realized I was kidding and relaxed.

Bah! Book injuries are just one of the many hazards of working in a library, right up there with shelving elbow, paper cuts and insanity. Next time you see your local librarian, pat her or him on the back and say, "You are hardcore."


We're #1 One! Well, Actually, #8, But Still!

The HAPLR report ranks American libraries according to circulation, population, service, etc. My library, the Earlville Free Library, ranked number 8 out of 958, for populations under 1,000. This is a national survey. So, we are 8th in the nation! How severely awesome is that? It's hella awesome. You can't see it, but I'm doing a little dance.

It's sad, but not surprising to note that there were no Texas libraries in the top ten of any catagory. Not surprising since Texas does rank as one of the worst states for libraries, 47th in the nation in spending. No wonder Laura Bush has to do all this charity work for libraries. Her husband stole all their money.


Currents...

Currently Reading:Dude, Where's My Country? by Michael Moore

Currently Listening To:Liz Phair, Liz Phair

I'm trying to decide which song I like best, Extraordinary, Favorite or H.W.C.

Currently Watching:Real Autopsy on HBO. A word of advice: No matter how hardcore you think you are, don't try and eat spaghetti when watching this show, because the minute Dr. Baden makes the Y-incision and opens up the chest, you will run to the bathroom and warf.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com