Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Manure


2003-03-31 at 1:05 p.m.

Why is it that whenever I'm running late and am trying to speed down Rte.12 I inevitably get stuck behind a tractor?

Last week the filter that feeds oil into our heater sprung a leak, filling our house with the fragrance of heating oil and leaving a big ass puddle on the basement floor.

So, this morning our landlord comes over and fixes it. Wonderful, except that now I was running late. I had to drop Baby J off at the day care center, (Let me pause here and bring you up to speed on this particular aspect of my life...I'm still living with my friend and her baby, only the baby is now a toddler and the friend is now a Graduate student. Oh, and now we live in a big old rambling parsonage in a tiny ass town in the middle of nowhere.)

Anyway, back to the rant at hand...

Baby J has to be at the day care center in time for lunch and I was running late and fearful. The daycare people are Nazis. If she doesn't nap or eat or if her diaper is full when she gets there, I hear about it. I guess they figure that since there's a waiting list they can have as many rules and be as scary as they want. So, I peeled out of the garage and put the pedal to the floor to get to the center, which is in the next town over, five miles away.

I just get out of town and onto the one lane highway when a tractor pulling a big container of shit turned in front of me. I pounded on the steering wheel and cursed like a pirate, Baby J gleefully repeating a few of my choice phrases. I KNOW I'm going to hear about that later.

The highway is strictly no-passing. So, I'm going 35 in a 55 holding my nose and muttering things under my breath so the baby can't hear and repeat them.

Long story short, we were about ten minutes late. Not one, not two, but THREE sinister day care bitches stopped me in the hallway and admonished me. Apparently, if the little children's schedules are thrown off as much as a MINUTE, they all go ape-shit and grow up to become serial killers or work at McDonald's. Baby J being late was terribly disruptive and I am a bastard for ruining any chance these tykes had of living a normal life.

I wanted to poke their eyes out. Most of these kids will grow up to work in the fast food industry or hunt people for sport because they are the spawn of mullet-haired buck toothed backwoods inbreds, not because I was late delivering Baby J to lunch.

Blah.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com