Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

psycho


2001-05-04 at 1:23 a.m.

No one needs to laugh more than a manic-depressive. That is my phrase. I�m thinking of having it tattooed somewhere. You know, a lot of people tend to think that it�s kind of weird that I�m pretty open with my *cough* mental illness. Oh sure, I�m not too thrilled with the idea of therapy and I certainly would never climb atop the Empire State Building and shriek out: �I HAVE A BI-POLAR DISORDER!� at the top of my lungs during the height of tourist season. But I am perfectly comfortable admitting it to friends and acquaintances, that guy at Wendy�s, the cashier who gave me change for a dollar, whatever.

After being diagnosed with everything from attention deficit disorder to just being an asshole, it�s kind of a relief to be able to put a name to a personality disorder. And here I was just thinking I was cranky! However, any good manic-depressive will tell you that being diagnosed is just the beginning. Next comes the fun part: drugs. Mind bending, mood altering drugs.

Me being already somewhat of an atypical personality to begin with, it was sometimes difficult for me to determine where I ended and where the drugs began. Now that definitely plays with your head a bit. Since I was FINALLY diagnosed at the age of fifteen, I was started on a drug called paxil. 60 milligrams a day. I liked it so much, I used it as my e-mail address. But, apparently, Paxil wasn�t the drug for me. It made me gain weight, and after a few years, became totally ineffective. Bummer. Next, they put me on a little druggie called Celexa. Fine, great.

Things were going well, for about six months or so, until I noticed some problems. One, my short-term memory was shot. Never good to begin with, it had become absolutely useless. I could probably introduce myself to the same person eight times in one evening. Next, I was still depressed. I came home after a miserable semester in college and my doctor took me off of it. I did fight the urge to throttle him when he said: �Oh, yes. Now that you mention it, Celexa has been known to cause memory problems.� Thanks for telling me now, nimrod.

I was off the sauce for the entire summer, was utterly despondent, so the doctor put me on a new medication: Effexor. Say it with me, Effexor. Let it roll off your tongue, it�s fun. So far, I�ve been okay. I ran out a while ago and had a mild brown out, but I�m back and more heavily medicated than ever! Life is good.

That�s all I have to say on the subject of manic depression. Well, one last thing, you should see my room when I have a manic episode! You could eat off the floor!



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com