Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

It's early in the morning and I feel like rambling.


2005-11-05 at 6:36 a.m.

I am enjoying the throwing away of stuff a little bit too much, me thinks. It's sort of...cathartic, that's the word. I'm downsizing my life, clean slates and all that.

I've gone through one box of trash bags and am moving on to a new box with more! bags than ever before. It's only a matter of time before I throw away this computer or something.

Incidentally, I'm having a bit of a career high right now, feeling the love from my co-workers and such who are sad (despondent!) to see me leave and hearing via the grapevine about how happy the new library is to be getting me. I know this probably won't last, so I'm enjoying it now, hoarding it so that when the suck happens, I'll have a little something to fall back on. An "OMGIlovemyjob" savings account, as it were.

I'm such an optimistic pessimist. I do declare.

I'm working on the driving route from New York to Texas and I've got it pretty much done. I didn't like the route Expedia.com recommended.

I thought making me drive through Ohio, Indiana AND Oklahoma in one fell swoop was a bit cruel. So, I only have to endure the vast stretches of nothingness in Ohio. (And parts of Texas, to be honest.)

I'll be going through New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas (egad!) and all of freakin' Texas. Last time I drove through Arkansas the entire state was under construction. That was about four years ago now. I hope they're done. Few things in life piss me off as much as crawling through Little Rock at five miles per hour while angry truckers bear down on my little car and flip me off.

Few things.

Moonspark is flying up to drive down with me. ROADTRIP! Except for her almost violent reaction to the entire state of Ohio, she's a good road buddy. And once we hit Kentucky, her rage will cool and she'll be downright personable again.

Last time she did the drive with me ('cause she's a veteran), we were almost pushed over Niagara Falls by some very aggressive Indian tourists, we got lost in Memphis looking for Graceland, ate lunch at some train village festooned with Confederate flags and some Klansmen somewhere in Tennessee, ran out of money somewhere in Arkansas and mooched off my grandparents in Dallas until we had recovered enough to make the 600+ mile drive to El Paso.

Good times.

Holy crap! It's almost 7:00 A.M.! What am I DOING AWAKE?!



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com