Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Poo on this!


2005-05-29 at 11:46 a.m.

What the hell? Why am I awake? And, more importantly, why did I rent a carpet shampooer yesterday and shampooer my carpet?

Oh, I must have guests coming and my carpet smells like wet dog. These guests are sleeping on my floor, which is why I felt the need to shampoo out as much of the wet dog smell as possible. I'm a thoughtful hostess like that. I would have done it when my cousin and his LOVER (ha! take THAT, mom!) spent the night, but they only told me the night before and the carpet wouldn't have dried in time.

Let me tell you, the rinse water was BLACK. That's the problem with living in a rental. The last time the carpet was clean was probably when it was put in, which, judging by its fabulous shag and goldenrod color I would guess to be around 1975. At least now it smells like a clean wet dog, as opposed to one that had been rolling in filth.

Lord, I'm surprised I haven't broken out with some sort of crazy disease living in this apartment. I must be immune. HA! Take THAT, again, mom! I knew being a slob would come in handy! When the plague comes, I'll have built up an immunity! Rock!

Anywhoodles, Special K and Baby J are driving down from Wisconsin to see me. Special K is also bringing her signifigant other (he needs a nickname for this journal...I shall call him...Science Boy because he's a science teacher like Special K), Science Boy, whom I've never met. I suppose she's bringing him down for my rating and approval.

Baby J and I are going to celebrate our birthdays together because hers was on Wednesday and mine, as I'm sure you all recall because you celebrated it, was on Monday. Special K went into labor on my birthday and two very evil days later, gave birth to the big-headed phenom known as Baby J. (She has since grown into her head).

I got Baby J some super cute stuff, some clothes from H&M (their children's stuff is stupendously cute), and some super girly little girl jewelry and make-up. Eeee! I'm becoming a diabetic just thinking about it.

Well, I've still got an apartment to clean and some laundry to do before they get here, so I suppose I should stop goofing off and go do it. I've got Gwen Stefani cued up on the CD player because she's peppy and I need the energy.

Wooooo!


Currents...

Currently Reading...
We Thought You'd Be Prettier by Laurie Notaro

Currently Hearing...
Love, Angel, Music, Baby / Gwen Stefani
Hail to the Thief / Radiohead
The Bends / Radiohead

Currently Watching...
Scrubs, season 1 on DVD.


< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com