Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Attack of the killer acorn squash!


2003-10-26 at 11:51 p.m.

Seriously. When I walked into work tonight, the first thing I noticed were these gourds EVERYWHERE. Piled on window sills, artfully scattered on EVERY SINGLE AVAILABLE SURFACE. Computer terminals, study desks, Xerox machines, bookcases, pretty much anywhere you can stack a gourd.

It was as though the Great Pumpkin had shat all over our library.

Perhaps one of our reference librarians watched Martha Stewart while smoking some crack, and then ran around the library with a giant box of gourds cackling and shrieking "It's a good thing!" whenever anyone got near. It's a possibility. Or it could be one of the catalogers, those guys are wierd.


I saw 'Kill Bill' today. I liked it. Of course, I also like cheesy and not so cheesy Japanese martial arts cinema from the '60s and '70s, Japanese anime and watching Autopsy on HBO. It was kind of like that, only cooler.

If you have objections to achilles tendons being slashed, arms and heads flying about in torrents of blood, people being scalped, dangerous breakfast foods, Sonny Chiba and Japanese girl rock bands, maybe this movie isn't for you. Also, if you dream of killing Quentin Tarantino and slow roasting his body on a BBQ spit, then, you know, go see 'Radio' or something.

Thankfully, at least in vol. 1, there was no Quentin Tarantino actually IN the film. I felt everyone in the cinema was relieved about that.

Watching Tarantino act is like being forced to watch a bad high school production of Grease. The audience knows he's bad, but he apparently exists in some sort of alternate reality where rapid hand waving, bug eyes, incomprehensible speech and wooden performances win Oscars every year. Where Pauly Shore is a god.

Anyway, he stays strictly behind the camera in this one and I, for one, am glad.

Another happy note was that some of the movie took place in El Paso, Texas, my hometown. Or at least, El Paso according to Quentin. *Sigh*

For the most part, we aren't a dusty, one traffic light town with redneck Texas Rangers strutting around in cowboy hats and chewin' tabacco. That would be Pecos. Maybe Van Horn. Not El Paso. Now, if Quentin was thinking about EP circa 1950, then he wouldn't be too far off the mark, but as far as I could tell, this movie is set in the present. Do some research, people. It's like that scene in the X-Files movie that depicted Dallas as a desert. Um, no. Anyway, moving on.

I read somewhere that the actors themselves did most of the stunts. Whoa. I would be real worried about my nuts right now if I were Ethan Hawke.

I would also be worried about my career, but that is a separate issue.

I have a beef. Okay, I actually have lots of beef, but this is one butt steak I need to season.

Ha. The above anaology just made me snort.

Anyway, people, someday, you will have to explain to me why both the remake of 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' and 'Scary Movie 3' were big box office hits.

I liked the first Scary Movie, but the second one was just too dumb. It went above my tolerance for stupidity. My tolerance level, by the way, is set firmly at 'Dude, Where's My Car?' Any lower and I will be annoyed.

As for the 'Texas Chainsaw Massacre' redux, see the original, people. For chrissake! Jesus, Mary and Joseph on a stick! It's a cult classic! Big Hollywood can't touch that by putting in some girl who was out-acted by babies! (Jessica Biehl, 7th Heaven)

Bah and humbug. I am a geezer and a snob and a purist, I admit it.

I guess I should go do some work now. It's kind of creepy, it's like these gourds are watching me. Every time I turn around, they seem to move closer...AHHHH!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com