Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Stirring the turd


2004-04-01 at 12:50 a.m.

I always have to stir the turd. ALWAYS. So, after heeding the advice of friends and family, I have drafted a letter to the search committee in charge of finding someone to replace my boss. Mostly, I just want them NOT to hire the evil slag. Here's the letter. Names have been changed to protect the evil.

March 31, 2004

Search Committee for Circulation/ILL Lending Supervisor

Library of the Underworld

Brimstone University

Hell

90210

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing in regards to one of your candidates, Evil Slag. It is my understanding that she has applied for the position of Circulation/ILL Lending Supervisor. I have worked with Evil Slag as both a student and a co-worker for almost six years and I feel that it is my responsibility to address a few concerns I have about her.

As a student worker, I found it very difficult to work with Evil Slag. She was very abrasive and occasionally abusive. I was not usually the target of her criticisms, but I observed her with my fellow student workers and she made me very uncomfortable. She had a tendency to berate student workers who did not perform their jobs to her specifications. She would do things like lecture students who took too long shelving books or who did not know the answer to certain questions. On one occasion, she sent a student home in tears and he later quit because he did not want to work with her. I knew several student workers who would try to avoid signing up on any shift she was working on.

In my position as a fellow staff worker, I have both observed and been a target of her abuse. I once had to calm a student worker down after Evil Slag picked a nickel up off the floor, handed it to the student and said: �Here, I know you could use this.� The student had been having financial problems and was very offended. Last fall, before Mrs. Y was hired to take over Mrs. X�s late night shifts with me, Evil Slag confronted me at the circulation desk in full view of student workers and patrons, and accused me of not doing enough work. She was specifically upset that I was largely unable, because of a staff shortage during my shift, to do more for the ILL department. At the time, I was only able to pull books and journals, not copy journal articles and Evil Slag seemed to feel that I was purposely avoiding work. She called me a �disappointment�, questioned my work ethics and said a few other things that upset me greatly.

While she is efficient in her job as a circulation assistant and e-reserve coordinator, I am not certain that she would be a good leader or supervisor. She gossips about staff members, is rude, abrasive and uncooperative, occasionally even to patrons. I personally would not like to work under her and I know of several students and fellow co-workers who feel the same way.

It is not my intention to get Evil Slag in trouble; however, I want the search committee to know my concerns. I have addressed this problem to Mrs. W, the current Circulation/ILL Lending Supervisor at least once, although I never heard anything further about it. I have no agenda other than wanting the Circulation Department to run as smoothly and efficiently as possible and although I have had issues with Evil Slag in the past, I do not wish her ill, nor do I hold a grudge against her. I simply do not feel that it is in the best interests of the department to hire her as a supervisor. Thank you for giving me your time and attention. I am certain that the Search Committee will hire the right candidate for the job.

Sincerely,

Gem-chan

Library of the Underworld Circulation Assistant

& Brimstone University Alumnus

Class of 2002

What do you guys think? Good? Bad? Ugly? Am I going to get fired?

1 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com