Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Rumination on a current event


2005-03-21 at 6:54 a.m.

I feel sorry for Terri Schiavo's parents. Mostly because they believe that their daughter will get better with rehabilitation. I understand a little of how they feel- in the first week or so after my father's accident, when he was essentially in a coma and he had documented brain damage, we were told that he might not wake up. I convinced myself that he would be okay and I wouldn't listen to the doctors. I was lucky in that he did wake up. But from everything I've read about Terri Schiavo's condition, she won't.

I can't believe this has gone as far as it has. It's horrible. I can't blame her husband for wanting to end all the suffering, and not just hers. His life has been on hold for a decade. Essentially, his wife has been dead that long and he has been unable to grieve or move on with his life. He's been in suspended animation. It's agonizing to see a loved one in such a state and I agree with him that she should be taken off her tube and allowed to die.

Once again the Republicans are taking an issue that really has no place in government and turning it into a rallying point. If you're not with them, you're a killer. I find it ironic that Tom Delay of Texas is a staunch advocate of keeping her alive when he's FROM TEXAS. He's such a vocal opponent of this, and then he turns around and supports the death penalty. Whoa. Somebody call Alanis Morrisette and tell her she's got a song to write.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Hmmm. Something smutty.

Currently Hearing...
Sex Dwarf - Soft Cell

Currently Watching...
Whatever is on the Discovery channel, TLC or A&E

Currently Cackling Because...
Baby J, when caught picking her nose informed her mother: "But my boogers are made of CANDY!"



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com