Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Well dammit, I don't have a good title for this entry.


2004-06-15 at 1:02 a.m.

Nothing that begins with the sentence:

"In the backwoods of Georgia, in a dilapidated house..." can amount to any good. I'm just saying.


You know that Extra gum commercial, with the brogue-accented saucy piece of gum? It's been bothering me for a while. I just want to know why advertising executives felt the need to make the gum Scottish.

Are Scotsmen more tenacious? Tenacious like the flavor of Extra gum? I know there must be a link somewhere, but I'll be damned if I can find it.

When I think strong and stubborn, I think of my mother, who is Mexican, not Scottish. But maybe having a piece of gum with a Mexican accent would offend people, like the Frito Bandito, who I actually thought was kind of funny. (Don't tell any of my relatives, please!)

Maybe they did it because they wanted the gum to have some sort of accent to be memorable and they figured the Scottish wouldn't sue them.

Scotsmen, are, as I recall, pretty laid back.

You know, I'm thinking too hard about this. It's just gum for chrissakes!


This website made me wet my pants. Obviously, I'm not the only one who thinks digging up one of our greatest Presidents and re-animating him in order to run for President (or Vice-President) is a good idea. We just disagree who that President was.

(Me: Teddy Roosevelt.)


Currents...

Currently Reading...

'The Italian Boy: A Tale of Murder and Body Snatching in 1830s London' by Sarah Wise

AND

'Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim' by David Sedaris

Currently Hearing...

'Whip Smart' by Liz Phair

Currently Watching...

Autopsy 8 and Autopsy 9

Current Nail Polish Color...

Revlon Colorstay 'Forever Scarlet'

Currently Munching...

Fudge covered graham crackers

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com