Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Today in the news...


2005-02-13 at 1:32 a.m.

What does it mean when two of Hollywood's toughest guys, Vin Diesel and Tommy Lee Jones are both starring in movies that, in a fair and just world, would be star vehicles for Hulk Hogan?

Vin is starring in a movie where he has to change diapers. Tommy is staring in a movie where he has to bond with sorority girls. I feel...sad. Not that I care much about Vin Diesel's career, but Tommy? Tommy...say it ain't so. Fellow Texan...why did you stoop so far down? WHHYYY??? *sob*

Grr.


I talked to Bobito today. He told me how proud he was of me and I got verklempt. I mean, about a month ago, I thought I might never talk to him again, and now every time I talk to him, I think it's a bit of a miracle. Sorry. That was a mushy moment. Back to irreverence.


There was a book/bake sale at the library today. I think we made about $500.00 or so. Rawk. I'm afraid I went a little insane with the banana nut chocolate chip muffins. I may have eaten them all. People may have been injured whilst I snarfed them all down. Oh ho ho. This is what falling off the wagon looks like. It's covered in chocolate and banana bits.

I myself baked cupcakes. Delicious, delicious cupcakes. And they were all sold. I initially attempted to bake brownies, but there was a bit of a brownie tragedy, so, cupcakes. Whee.


One of my staff people at the wee library is applying for a job at Brimstone University's Library of the Underworld, part time. I don't hold that against her at all, although I do worry about her because she's a little sensitive and working with the crew of demonic trolls at the Library of the Underworld requires a thick skin.

She asked for my recommendation. I gave it, although I'm not sure that having my name on her application will win her any points. I made sure she had some Board Members' names on there as well.

She asked me if it was all right that she was applying and I said of course, but I did warn her about the job. Remember all my stress? Tons of work, no respect, little pay? And she'd be working for the evil slag. Yikes. But she needs the money and I completely understand. Plus, this job (which, incidentally, was the job I tried to apply for last summer and didn't get, basically my old job-the person who replaced me has already quit! Ha!) has benefits and she needs them. Perfectly understandable.

Hell, I need benefits. I'm applying for a New York state subsidised insurance when my mom's kicks me off in May. It would be nice to have insurance that actually works up here. I mean, my mom's only works in Texas so I have to have my medicine shipped every month and I can't see any doctors up here unless I want to pay out of pocket, soo...I hope I'm poor enough to qualify.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Foucault's Pendulum by Umberto Eco

Currently Hearing...
Contraband - Velvet Revolver

Currently Watching...
Murphy Brown, Golden Girls, CSI, Best Week Ever, Family Guy, Futurama.



Bobito's Current Condition...


< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com