Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Tragic, tragic


2004-03-15 at 4:56 a.m.

I went to the grocery store on Friday with tragic results. I bought some ground beef, the good, expensive kind since I refuse to eat bad meat (I'd rather not eat it at all than be subjected to low quality). Well, I got home, lugged all my groceries in (yet another task I need a man for)and managed to unload all the perishables before I got distracted by the latest Weekly World News and a smutty book I bought.

Well, this morning, as I was stumbling to the bathroom, my foot kicked something that was:

A. Moist

B. Bleeding

C. Dead

Yup. I forgot to put the damn beef in the freezer and let it sit on my kitchen floor for 2 days. The tragedy. The complete and utter tragedy of having 2 day old meat on your foot.

Ick. I have been deprived of my tacos for the week. .:sob:.

Hey, did you guys know that I'm going out of town on Friday? I didn't! Actually, I think I did at some point, but I had completely forgotten until mom reminded me. I'm going to Texas for a weekend to celebrate my grandpa's 80th birthday.

Since my grandma is in charge of the whole thing, I will no doubt spend the whole party with the rest of the women in my family in the kitchen of their church making finger sandwiches and chopping jalapenos for a rabid bunch of hungry Mexicans, just like at their 50th wedding anniversary party. Mexicans eat a lot, you know. I've learned this over many, many family events.

So much as mention the idea of getting the whole thing catered and grandma goes all Exorcist on you, except that she wouldn't spew pea soup because that's wasteful and it would stain the curtains. But there would definitely be some revolving head action going on there.

On the happy side, that means I'll have about 3 days to stuff good food into my cheek pockets like a squirrel for the long, cold, Mexican-foodless winter ahead. Especially now that I've ruined my taco meat. Dammit.

Oh Lord, here's something amusing, it's my opinion on the movie 'Troy' coming out this summer. I posted it on a discussion board I'm active on. I made myself snort.

.:Gem-chan's Edumacated Opinion On Troy:.

Heck, if the director has Brad Pitt's or Orlando Bloom's togas get hit with a well-placed blast of air a la Marilyn Monroe in the 7 Year Itch, I'll forgive any historical/mythological inaccuracies, even though I have a Bachelor's Degree in History. I forgave U-571 for portraying the Americans as the ones who got the Enigma machine from the Germans simply because Matthew McConaghey was in a black leather trenchcoat and wet for most of the movie. I'm a shallow intellecutal. And damn proud out it. Bring on the beefcake! .:becomes drooling sub human who uses college diploma as a napkin:.

And that concludes today's little exercise. I'm going to go to sleep for about 3 hours, since I have to go to work at 9. GOD DAMN SPRING BREAK!!!!

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com